top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Jane

Once Upon a Lockdown....

Amazing what can be accomplished when you set your mind to it.

When the worldwide pandemic of Covid19 hit and New Zealand went into lockdown we were all told to stay at home. I didn't want to come out of this at the other end, not having accomplished anything and having wasted the time. At first I set up diary reminders throughout the day to make sure that I gave myself time to work from home for my paid employment, as well as time for my art, time to exercise and time to relax with a book etc


I also decided to re start French language lessons to refresh that skill as I have always loved languages and had planned to be in Paris for my 50th Birthday next year......


On top of this I gave the online courses DOMESTIKA a go. They have been brilliant to take as they have many based in Illustration and watercolour, which obviously is my line of training. I started with Flor Kaneshiro's 'Watercolor Illustration with Japanese influence' and I learnt some amazing techniques that I am now using within my work. I also completed 'Architectural Sketching with Watercolour Ink' by Alex Hillkurtz. This also provided me with some new ideas.


Currently I am working on 'Narrative Techniques for Illustrated Stories'. This course is taken by Paula Bossio. It has definitely been the most concentrated course in terms of making your brain think. She takes a theme and makes you recreate over and over in many different ways. I have learnt so very much about creating an illustrated book and took many notes to refer to long after this course is over.



As always, never waste a moment as life is short. Achieve always achieve.



56 views1 comment
bottom of page